Latest News

Sir Knight Michael Thomas installed Provincial Grand Master of Ontario West

The Provincial Grand Black Chapter of Ontario West held its 144th Convocation on Saturday, March 27, via Zoom.

Originally planned for March 2020, it had been rescheduled to October 2020. It was slated again to be in person on March 27, 2021 in Port Elgin but the situation made an alternative meeting necessary.

A total of 29 delegates from the Dominion of Canada, Northern Ireland and Scotland were present. These delegates included the Sovereign Grand Master, M.W. Sir Knight Rev. William Anderson, Assistant Sovereign Grand Master, Rt. Wor. Sir Knight Harold McCloy, Imperial Grand Lecturer, Rt. Wor. Sir Knight Ian McCafferty, and the Grand Master of the Grand Black Chapter of British America, M.W. Sir Knight Edgar Carman, among other distinguished Sir Knights.

The annual gathering discussed the current affairs and business of the province and the direction it will take over the year ahead. 

Part of the meeting was the election of new officers. This year saw an historic first with the elevation of Sir Knight Michael Thomas as the 75th Provincial Grand Master. At the age of 29 (six days short of his 30th), he is the youngest in 150 years of a provincial chapter operating in Ontario to occupy the post. He takes over from M.W. Sir Knight Ron Sharpe who served from 2018-2020. 

Sir Knight Thomas has spent 10 years in offices at the Provincial body, with the last seven years serving as the Provincial Grand Registrar. In his address to delegates, he laid forth his vision for the chapter in Ontario West with emphasis on witnessing for the gospel and the Lord Jesus. 

Sir Knight Thomas belongs to Toronto’s The Temple RBP 292 and is an associate member of Blackhill Golden Star RBP 71 under Coleraine district, Co. Londonderry. 

Along with Sir Knight Thomas the following were elected as his associate officers:

Deputy: Brian Thompson of St. Catharines 

Associate Deputy: Sam Ferguson of Niagara Falls 

Chaplain: Rev. Dan MacDonald of London 

Registrar: John Thomas of Toronto 

Treasurer: David Griffin of Toronto 

Lecturer: Jimmy Stewart of Fruitland

Standard Bearer: Brian Farhall of St. Thomas 

Marshal: Robert Shoebottom of London 

Pursuivant: Art Taylor of Grand Valley